All Things New Review

All Things New ReviewAll Things New by Lauren Miller
Published by Three Saints Press on August 1st 2017
Genres: Young Adult
Pages: 328
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Jessa has always felt broken inside, but she’s gotten very good at hiding it. No one at school knows about the panic attacks, the therapy that didn't help, the meds that haven’t worked. But when a severe accident leaves her with a brain injury and visible scars, Jessa’s efforts to convince the world that she’s okay finally crumble—now she looks as shattered as she feels.

Fleeing from her old life in Los Angeles, Jessa moves to Colorado to live with her dad, where she meets Marshall, a boy whose kindness and generous heart slowly draw Jessa out of her walled-off shell and into the broken, beautiful, real world—a place where souls get hurt just as badly as bodies, and we all need each other to heal.

ALL THINGS NEW is a love story about perception and truth, physical and emotional pain, and the messy, complicated people we are behind the masks we put on for the world, perfect for fans of ALL THE BRIGHT PLACES and THE FAULT IN OUR STARS.

Firstly, I want to say thank you to Three Saints Press for sending an ARC for my unbiased and honest review!

Jessa is struggling with anxiety but has managed to keep it concealed beneath her seemingly happy and pretty exterior. If you don’t look sick, then you aren’t sick, right? Wrong. Her wolrd comes crashing down when she flees a party after catching her boyfriend cheating, and experiences a car accident that sends her to the hospital. She has facial injuries and a traumatic brain injury, both of which contribute to an exacerbation of her anxiety disorder. Upon release from the hospital, Jessa and her parents decide it would be better for her to move to Colorado to live with her father. Jessa is trying to deal with hallucinations, rebuild her facade, and is struggling to find meaning in her world. 

“I smile back. That’s exactly what there is. Hope. In car accidents and operating rooms and school parking lots. When we’re trudging through the middle place, in the tunnel between already and not yet. Where the light is visible but we’re still in the dark, and the best we can do is believe that eventually we’ll get there and hold each other’s hands until we do. There may not be calm or certainty or confidence, but there is hope. That the tears aren’t forever. That one day all things will be new.”

I REALLY enjoyed this book! The characters are perfectly written. Jessa is frustrating and funny and relatable. Hannah is sarcastic and a perfectly imperfect rescuer. Marshall is swoon-worthy. I know that the book is being billed as something for fans of TFIOS and I can totally see why. It deals with love and heartbreak, and mental illness and faith, and learning when you are in control and when you have to just let go. This was my first Lauren Miller book and now I really want to check out more of her works. Oh! Also, there is a slight supernatural aspect of this novel and the way it is executed is so perfect! Really took me by surprise! This book releases on August 1st and I can’t wait for you guys to pick it up so we can talk about it!

four-half-stars
Keep Up

Hollye

Coblogger at Spines & Covers
Hollye is a 28 year old RV livin', Jesus lovin' travel nurse. She is a proud coffee addict, obsessed with her pomsky puppy, avid reader, and madly in love with boyfriend and her life.
Keep Up

Latest posts by Hollye (see all)

Divider image

Leave a Reply